Waikato River Race - 2013

18 teams from as far afield as Rarangi (Blenheim), Fitzroy (New Plymouth) and Whangamata, together with Northern Region crews, faced a brisk head wind over the latter stages of the course with all crews finishing the gruelling race in under 3 and a half hours.

The winning team, Piha A Crew finished in 2 hours and 31 minutes.  The youngest team, from Sunset Beach, came a close second in the U19 Mens category, a great effort and a sign of things to come.  

Final placings are below.


Open Mens Surf Boat

First                    Piha A Crew                Time:  2:31:41

Second            Muriwai Mongols            Time:  2:39:23

Open Womens Surf Boat

First            Bethells Barracudas            Time:  3:16:47

Second            Piha Black Pearls           Time:  3:31:02

Under 19 Mens Surf Boat

First            Waihi Beach Under 19s         Time:  2:46:25

Second       Sunset Beach Under 19s       Time:  3:00:08

Under 23 Womens Surf Boat

First                Muriwai Muzzies                Time:  3:01:02

Second                Piha Coladas                Time:  3:10:42

Waka Ama

First                        Yep Yep                    Time:  3:04:42

Stand Up Paddleboard

First                    Marcus Hansen             Time:  3:18:35

Second                    Anthony Willis            Time:  4:00:51