The Northern Region Surf Lifesaving Awards of Excellence were held last night 25th June at Shed 10, Auckland.  The event was well attended by 20 lifeguards from Sunset Beach and MC’d by Malcolm Beattie.

The night rolled on with many well deserving lifesavers, competitors, surf clubs, volunteers and officials recognised for their outstanding contributions and dedication to Surf Lifesaving.

Sunset Beach was nominated for 5 awards, Winners of Northern Region IRB Competition Title and 4 Service Awards.  We were not disappointed, winning the nominations:

Outstanding Contribution to Junior Surf – Joanne Hobson
Coach of the Year – Shane Edwards
Outstanding Contribution to Power Craft – Shane Edwards
Competition Team of the Year – Womens IRB Racing team and National Champions – Taylor Shrimpton, Robbie Shrimpton and Robert Graham
Volunteer of the Year – Joanne Hobson
Northern Region IRB Champions – Sunset Beach

Service Awards: Warren Edwards, Terry Wyllie, Joanne Hobson, Shane Edward. What an outstanding result for a very successful year for Sunset Beach Lifeguard Service.  Well done to the award recipients and the support behind them!

Check out photos of the awards night on our facebook page