What a perfect way to end the season and retain the New Zealand Top Club Trophy for Surf Rescue.  Day two of the Surf Life Saving New Zealand BP Surf Rescue Championships saw Sunset securing 95 points to take the win from St Clair on 60 points.  Here is a link to Surf Lifesavings NZ media release: http://www.surflifesaving.org.nz/sport/news/details?f=2017/april/back-to-back-titles-for-bp-new-zealand-irb-championships-winner/

Trust Waikato Sunset Beach having been top club last season, were on show on TV 3 news hub on Saturday night, here is the link: http://www.newshub.co.nz/home/sport/2017/04/surf-clubs-gunning-for-success-at-national-lifesaving-championships.html

Lewis Powell and Hogan Shrimpton were awarded the prestigious Arancia Trophy for Top Premier Team.  They also won the Housiaux Trophy for Premier Assembly and the Don Wright Cup for the Premier Single Rescue.  Shane and Mark Edwards missed out on the Top Premier Team by 1 point, what a close battle, the points could have swung either way.   This means Sunset Beach have the two top Premier teams in New Zealand.  What an achievement for our club.  Lewis and Hogan had 2 Gold and 1 silver medal.  Shane and Mark have 1 gold and two silver.  The two teams combined in the open teams race to win Silver medal, just piped at the post for some exciting racing.

Taylor Shrimpton retained her Top New Zealand Women’s Crew title with her crewman Jemima Ferrier.  This back to back win comes after a fantastic year of racing with new crewman Jemima.  Taylor and Jemima won 3 gold medals.  Robbie Shrimpton and Olivia Andrew won silver medal in the tube rescue and placed in another final.  This was their first year paired as a team and were well rewarded.

U21 Men had finals placings adding to the teams points.  Anton Baptist and Robert Graham earned silver medal in the Mass Rescue and stood on the podiemwith Judd Redmond and Jhett Hunt who won bronze.  Judd and Jhettalso won bronze in the Single rescue.

This back to back win feels one better than last year with our Premier Men’s teams stepping up and grabbing the title with excellent performances along with the Sunset women’s crews and other team points.  The win was never going to be a given with Sunset Beach on even points with St Clair after day 1. 

These were well deserved wins with hard work put into the training and management of these teams. Big ‘Thank you’ to Shane Edwards for all his hard work as coach and team captain.  Carolyn Edwards for her mangers role.  All the support crew Jonathan Ferrier, Steve Edwards, Jeff Shrimpton, Glennys Smith, Samantha Coughlan, Caitlin Stuart and Alex Stuart . The Officials, Robert Key and Roanne Gordan.  Our president Malcolm Beattie and the clubs committee have shown fantastic support.  There are many more who helped get these teams to best in New Zealand, we thank you all.

We would like to thank our sponsors Toyota Financial Services, Tuakau ITM, NZCT and Trust Waikato who have helped make this all possible.

Click here to go to facebook photos >>>